National Broadcast Academy

The Training Arm of Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria
  • +2348034342468, +2348033941805
  • About Radio Nigeria

    SHARE THIS PAGESubmit to TwitterSubmit to FacebookSubmit to WhatsApp
Radio House


To inform, educate and entertain through the creation and maintenance of Broadcast Outfits that will serve as Models in Nigeria and Africa in terms of Standards, Professionalism, and Character.


To be an impartial, credible, creative, and digitized Medium at the forefront of Nigeria’s National Development, Unity, and Progress.

Our mandate is: To uplift the people and unite the nation.

What started as a listening post for the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) decades ago, metamorphosed into the largest Radio network in Africa with 6 Zonal Stations as well as 2 Operation offices in Lagos and Abuja transmitting on the MW/SW channels and on Frequency Modulation.


Radio Broadcasting was introduced into Nigeria in 1933 by the then Colonial Government. It relayed the overseas service of the British Broadcasting Corporation through a wired system with loudspeakers at the listening end. The service was called Radio Diffusion System, RDS.

From the Radio Diffusion System, emerged the Nigeria Broadcasting Service, (NBS) in April 1951. Mr. T.W. Chalmers, a Briton, and Controller of the BBC Light Entertainment Programme was the first Director-General of the Nigeria Broadcasting Service (NBS).

Thereafter, the Nigerian Broadcasting Corporation (NBC), came into being in April 1957 through an Act of Parliament No. 39 of 1956. The Director-General was Mr. J.A.C Knott OBE. In 1978, the Nigerian Broadcasting Corporation was re-organized to become the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria, FRCN.

The Nigerian Broadcasting Corporation (NBC) handed over her stations that broadcast on Medium Wave frequencies in the States to the State Governments while it took over Short Wave Transmitters from the States. Consequently, Broadcasting Corporation of Northern Nigeria, (BCNN) was merged with NBC stations in Lagos, Ibadan and Enugu to form the present-day FRCN. Reverend Victor Badejo was the first indigenous Director-General of Radio Nigeria.

Today, the FRCN, as a public service broadcaster with its headquarters in Abuja, has Six (6) Zonal Stations in Enugu, Ibadan, Kaduna, Lafia , Maiduguri and Port Harcourt as well Abuja and Lagos Operation Offices. The Zonal Stations and Operation Offices supervise all the 37 FRCN FM/MW/SW stations spread across the country reaching more than 100 million Audiences; broadcasting in 15 languages, catering to the diverse broadcast needs of a multi-ethnic Nigerian; uplifting the people and uniting the nation.

The Corporation also has its stations streaming live audio on the Internet at: www., thus reaching millions audiences around the world.


The FRCN has a Board of Directors which has overall responsibility for policy and standards while the Director-General is the Accounting Officer/Chief Executive Officer.

The Director-General and all Directors in Headquarters and Zonal Stations at Bauchi (North East), Enugu (South East) , Ibadan (South West), Kaduna ( North West), Lafia ( North Central) and Port Harcourt (South South) as well as Abuja and Lagos Operations from the Central Management Committee (CMC) responsible for the day -to-day running of the Corporation.

At the Headquarters, there is a Committee of Management (COM) is headed by the most senior Director as Chairman, with other Directors and Heads of Departments as members. There is also a Committee of Management (COM) at each of the Zonal Stations headed by a Zonal Director/Director assisted by Heads of sub-Directorates, General Managers of FM Stations.


  • 1A Adekunle Fajuyi Way, GRA, Ikeja, Lagos State
  • +2348034342468